Order INFRINGE Issue #2 now HERE

x

Coming from a family of hairdressers, Ryuta Saiga was immersed in the craft from a young age. His father, Kenji Saiga, was an integral force in bringing hairdressing brand Toni & Guy to Asia, heading up the Tokyo branch for many years. Meanwhile, his brother, Hide Saiga, is currently the CEO of Toni & Guy Japan.

RYUTA SAIGA-4
Michael Furlonger (Fuckingyoung)

Following his training, Saiga spent three years assisting the renowned South Korean session stylist Shon. It’s an experience he counts as a pivotal moment in his career, igniting his love for session styling over salon work. ”I was very much into only cutting hair until I met Shon, he completely changed the way I thought about hair,” Saiga explains. “I learnt a lot of skills from him, most importantly, how to create work really quickly. Now I always start shoots with a good foundation and hair texture, and as the shoot progresses I try to go with the vibe, pushing my imagination into the hair.”

Citing street style as a constant source of inspiration, Saiga nods to both his current London base and his Tokyo roots. “In Shibuya and Harajuku, where I grew up, people are very individual and not scared of being different,” he says. “In London there is no limit, the street style is constantly changing. I like how things like fashion, hair and make-up come back around, but with a modern edge.”

RYUTA SAIGA-12
William Scarborough (1granary)
RYUTA SAIGA-6
Nathan Jenkins
RYUTA SAIGA-1
Callum Toy (Revsmagazine)
RYUTA SAIGA-9
Petrosstudio (Red Thread Journal)
RYUTA SAIGA-10
Petrosstudio (Revsmagazine)
RYUTA SAIGA-7
Nicholas Riley-Bentham
RYUTA SAIGA-8
Petrosstudio (Hunger)
Credits

Images Esther Bellepoque Website estherbellepoque.com
Nicholas Riley Bentham Website nickrileybentham.com
Michael Furlonger Website michaelfurlonger.com
Nathan Jenkins Website nathanjenkins.studio
Petrosstudio Website petros-studio.com
William Scarborough Website willscarborough.com
Lucas Suchorab Website suchorab.com
Callum Toy Website callumtoy.com
Myro Wulff Website myrowulff.com
Words Alex Mascolo
Special Thanks Ryuta Saiga Website ryutasaiga.com

Buy INFRINGE Issue #2 HERE

OUT NOW SLIDERS 2
Sign up for INFRINGE updates
infringemagazine
Subscribe

Get INFRINGE direct to your inbox!